Taking Korora 21 Xfce Beta for a spin

I say this a lot in the various blogs I do, to the point where I should just tape myself saying it and push a button. But here it is again: Testing a beta and reviewing it in lieu of a release is akin to sticking your finger in a bowl of cake batter and reviewing a wedding cake. You can’t really tell what the final product will be like from that simple taste.

So this is not a review. It is, however, observations about what to expect for Korora 21 Xfce — and the view from here is that Korora 21 will be an excellent release.

Don’t take my word for it. Go ahead and download it here.

While I’m not sold on the Panel 2 being on the left side and hidden (Xfce folks will know what I’m talking about), as is the default on the beta, I know there is an easy fix to move it to the bottom, where I have always put it. Blame me for being a creature of habit, but I prefer it there. However your mileage may vary, and the default location is certainly unobtrusive. The default Xfce desktop in Korora 21 also comes with its own unique Korora icon set; icons which are very clean and inviting.

While it’s not a knock against the other desktops that Korora provides, the Xfce version always seems to work best. On identical machines I had Korora 20 KDE and Korora 20 Xfce and I always preferred the latter. Credit a conscientious Xfce team at Korora that’s working on it — Maik Adamietz and Jim Dean specifically (and if I’m forgetting someone, I apologize in advance and let me know in the comments below). But again, different strokes for different folks, and you may prefer another desktop on Korora. That’s what makes the world go ’round.

Korora 21, which goes by the release name Darla (the involuntary antagonist and niece of the dentist in “Finding Nemo”), is based on Fedora, for those keeping score at home, and should be ready soon. When it breaks from the starting blocks, it should be a successful release, if this beta gives any indication.

One more thing
: For those of you attending the Southern California Linux Expo SCALE 13x in February, there’s a good chance there will be a Korora Birds of a Feather session on either Friday or Saturday night. The BOF sessions are where like-minded folks get to meet and discuss the distro, or if you’re curious and want to find out more about it, try to attend. More on this as plans develop.

Creative Commons License
Larry the Korora Guy and all other blogs by Larry Cafiero are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

(Larry Cafiero is one of the founders of the Lindependence Project and is also a freelance software/hardware documentarian. He is primarily a Korora user, and also swears by the Xfce desktop environment across distros.)

1 Comment

  1. > While I’m not sold on the Panel 2 being on the left side and hidden (Xfce folks will
    > know what I’m talking about)

    I do this in my Xfce installations. It’s the one thing I took from Unity and GNOME 3 and have “run with,” as they say. It works better than the same feature in Unity, and it’s a nice way to preserve precious horizontal screen space on today’s laptops.

